Multi-User Account

From Displayr
Jump to: navigation, search

To allow other people to edit your documents, or to allow specific people to view your documents (without the ability to edit them), you need to switch to a multi-user account.

After you add a person to your account, they will be able to see your account's documents list and edit or view documents, based on permissions you assign.

Before getting started, you need to know the person's email address.

Switch to a Multi-User Account

  1. Go to your Account Settings page.
  2. Go to the Settings section.
  3. Do you see a list of Users and Groups? Your account is already multi-user.
  4. Look for the label Do you want to invite users to join (your company)?
  5. Click the Expand button next to the label.

Add Users to Your Account

  1. Go to your Account Settings page.
  2. Go to the Settings section.
  3. Click the New User button.
  4. Type in the person's name and email.
  5. For Group membership:
    • Select Administrators if you want this person to administer your account with the same permissions you have - including adding/deleting users, purchasing licenses, etc. Edit and View membership is automatically inherited.
    • Select Edit Projects if you want this person to be able to edit any document in your account. View membership is automatically inherited. This user will need to be assigned an annual license in order to edit documents.
    • Select View Projects if you want this person to be able to view any document in your account. This user does not need a license. When the user views a document, their usage will be deducted from the pool of view-mode time.
  6. Click Save.
  7. An email is sent to the person to invite them into your account. If the person doesn't already have a Displayr account, they will be instructed to sign up first.

Allow Users to Edit Documents

Assuming you have added a user with permission to edit documents, you still need to assign a license to this user so they can use edit-mode time. Without this, when they try to edit a document they will see an error message.

Purchase a License for the New User

  1. Go to your Account Settings page.
  2. Go to the Licenses section.
  3. Do you already have an Unassigned PAYG or annual license? If so, you can skip the remaining steps and instead assign this license to the new user.
  4. Click Add next to the type of license to purchase. You can choose either a PAYG or an annual license. See Account_Settings#Licenses for guidance.

Assign a License to the New User

  1. Go to your Account Settings page.
  2. Go to the Licenses section.
  3. Next to the Unassigned PAYG or annual license, click Assign.
  4. Select the new user and click OK.
  5. The new user can now edit your documents.

The system will not allow more than 1 annual license to be assigned to a single user. This is because having an annual licence already enables access to the company's shared pool of view- and edit-mode time.

Transfer a License from Another User

If you have previously assigned an annual license to a user, and that user no longer needs to edit documents, you can remove the license assignment by clicking the Unassign button. This will return the license to the Unassigned row, whence it can be assigned to a different user. Please note:

  • If you unassign a License by mistake, you can immediately assign it back to the same user provided that you have not made any other changes in the meantime.
  • Except as noted in the previous dot point, you cannot assign an annual license to a user who had one within the preceding 7 days.